New Frontier - 2013

New Frontier - 2013


Bass virtuoso and 7-time IBMA bass player of the year Missy Raines explores a new path for her musical vision on this disc. For anyone familiar with Raines’ years of work in the bluegrass arena, New Frontier will seem like a radical departure, but for Raines herself it’s the natural extension of her musical curiosity and adventurous spirit. New Frontier is entirely a vocal album featuring Raines’ dusky, emotive alto layered among the cool grooves and expansive soundscapes provided by guitarist Ethan Ballinger, mandolinist/acoustic guitarist Jarrod Walker and drummer/percussionist Josh Fox. The album’s ten tracks draw from songs written by Pierce Pettis, Sarah Siskind, Ed Snodderly, and even Raines herself, and borrow from Americana, newgrass, indie rock and acoustic jazz. This album is certain to expand Raines’ profile in roots music and surprise anyone who thought her talents were limited to the bluegrass and new acoustic music. Special guests include Sam Bush, Zach Bevill and former New Hip bassist Robert Crawford. Released September 2013 on Compass Records

Produced by Ethan Ballinger, Missy Raines, and Ben Surratt

Add To Cart


  1. New Frontier

  2. I Learn

  3. Blackest Crow

  4. Nightingale

  5. Long Way Back Home

  6. Where You Found Me

  7. Kite

  8. When the Day is Done

  9. What’s the Callin’ For?

  10. American Crow

Raines continues to reach far beyond the confines of bluegrass with her inventiveness…Her roots remain distinctively bluegrass, while her originals and arrangements reflect her eclectic taste.
— Strings Magazine
…an ensemble perfectly balanced between brilliantly composed precision and equally brilliant spontaneity.
— The Nashville Scene